Our Advisory Board

The Agency’s Advisory Board comprises of two branches, one in Tasmania, and the other in the Northern Territory. Each branch of the Board comprises of four members; a Chair and a member drawn from industry, and two ex-officio members drawn from the Australian Government and the Tasmanian and Northern Territory Governments respectively. The Advisory Board’s role is to help to determine the eligibility of major projects requesting assistance. It also provides specialist advice on how approvals are impacting on business investment.

The Chair of the Advisory Board in Tasmania also serves on the Joint Commonwealth and Tasmanian Economic Council, and informs it about the Agency's progress and its insights into the impact of regulatory requirements on business. This Council is co-chaired by the Prime Minister of Australia and Mr Dale Elphinstone, Managing Director of the Elphinstone Pty Ltd/William Adams group of companies

Advisory Board Chair (Tasmania) Mr Bob Calvert


Mr Bob Calvert has held senior management positions with large multinational companies with 40 years’ experience in plant, equipment and services to the mining industry. He is the current Group Manager – Development at Stornoway which provides the development and management of road and water infrastructure in Australia as well as a diversified range of quarry products in Tasmania.

Mr Calvert has served on the following boards:

  • Buy Australian Home and Abroad Member Advisory Committee –2012-2013
  • Stornoway Advisory Board – Board Advisor 2011-2013
  • Enterprise Connect MTIC Advisory Board – Board Advisor 2009-2013
  • AUSTMINE – Board Member Tasmania 2005 - Present
  • Cradle Coast Authority – Board Member 2005 - Present
  • Tasmanian Minerals Council – Board Member and President 1991-2009

Mr Calvert has been a Global Marketing Manager at Caterpillar and Haulmax with expertise on business growth and sales. Mr Calvert is a Life Member with the Tasmanian Minerals Council and holds an Advanced Certificate in Business Management from the Australian Institute of Management. A Rotarian of 33 years, Past President and Paul Harris Fellow.

Advisory Board Member (Tasmania) Dr Vicki Gardiner

Dr Vicki Gardiner PhD FRACI CChem has been the General Manager of Tasmania Division (Engineers Australia) since April 2013. In this role, Dr Gardiner has responsibility for implementing Engineers Australia’s strategic vision and plan within the Tasmanian setting. She is responsible for delivering member value in the form of relevant professional development and raising the profile of the Tasmanian engineering profession through the Division’s outreach and publicity strategies.  Dr Gardiner is heavily involved with key stakeholders in government, education and industry.

Dr Gardiner holds a PhD (Chemistry) from Monash University and is a Fellow and former board member of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute Inc. She is also a Companion of Engineers Australia. During 2010/11, Dr Gardiner was the RACI International Year of Chemistry Convenor. Establishing partnerships and developing key stakeholder relationships with Government, industry and other professional societies were important aspects of this role.

Dr Gardiner has previously held roles in the corporate, government and academic sectors, including Marinova Pty Ltd. In 2012, Dr Gardiner was the recipient of the RK Murphy Medal by the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI). This prestigious accolade is awarded for outstanding achievement in process chemistry, chemical engineering or related areas in the chemical industry, including commercial and marketing functions.

Advisory Board Chair (Northern Territory)  Mr Stuart Kenny

Stuart Kenny.jpg

Stuart Kenny is the Director and General Manager of Austal Service Darwin.  Mr Kenny holds qualifications in Project Management and Business Administration, is the Vice-President of the Northern Territory Chamber of Commerce and has held several Corporate Director roles.
Mr Kenny has been in the Northern Territory for over 16 years with roles in agriculture and manufacturing and is the former CEO of the Northern Territory Cattleman’s Association.  Mr Kenny has worked extensively in South East Asia and has a working knowledge and understanding of industry and government relations.  Mr Kenny is a strong advocate for business growth and manufacturing in the Northern Territory.
Mr Kenny has a wealth of experience servicing defence, mining, oil & gas, marine, civil construction and earthmoving across Northern Australia.

Advisory Board Member (Northern Territory) Mr James Paspaley


 James Paspaley.jpg

James Paspaley is the CEO and Executive Director of the Paspaley Group of Companies, a family owned business that has been operating for over 75 years, which includes pearl production and wholesale, aviation, diversified property holdings and development, jewellery retail, agribusiness, viniculture and marine engineering.
Mr Paspaley holds a Bachelor of Economics from Sydney University, and has experience in board management and broad business experience in the Northern Territory and across Northern Australia, as well as in Europe, Asia, the United Arab Emirates and the USA.
Mr Paspaley’s history is intrinsically entwined with Japan and Japanese businesses and friendships. As a result, Mr Paspaley was appointed Honorary General-Consul of Japan in Darwin in 2012, a role which he accepted with honour.

Share this Page